View Full Version : fake usb memory sticks
asteroid
19-05-2006, 01:53 PM
cant find the link now but,
theres a scam going round where some people are selling fake USB memory sticks on ebay / at computer fairs.
they say Sony 8Gb, or something similar and are neither made by Sony or 8Gb, as well as have a fake brand printed on them, when viewed in XP when empty they show 8Gb free, the firmware has been doctored so they are really 64Mb or so, and will just get corrupt or show full when their true amount is filled up.
Some people are buying job lots of 10 from some sources to sell on as part of their IT business and find they are duds.
only buy from Novatech or a trusted source. :)
mr. Strawberry
31-10-2009, 02:27 PM
well i never thank you for informing me on this i will look carefully at any memory stick i buy :)
Hayling Laser Sailor
31-10-2009, 03:36 PM
I agree these memory sticks are dreadful , they dont hold data and if you try to open the data at a later date it reads as corrupt or even worse the data isnt on the memory stick. Always use a trused souce as asteroid said, you could pay full price and be scammed!
mr. Strawberry
31-10-2009, 03:39 PM
lol should have read this first before posting
19-05-2006, 01:53 PM(time and date of op)
Hayling Laser Sailor
31-10-2009, 03:46 PM
:opps:
Well there are still fake memory sticks on the market, just making sure people were still well informed! ;)
mr. Strawberry
31-10-2009, 03:51 PM
lol like this one
http://failblog.in/wp-content/uploads/yapb_cache/pendrive_fail.1eff51plv29c6osw8000sc84g.5hotfq51na 0ickos8k4cow4oc.th.jpeg
Hayling Laser Sailor
31-10-2009, 03:52 PM
Lol thats shocking!
Anybody viewing this thread don't purchase one of those! w00t
mr. Strawberry
31-10-2009, 03:53 PM
lol epic win if you ask me :)
Martini1991
31-10-2009, 03:55 PM
Umm.. 3 years on and this is still very present atm.
Hayling Laser Sailor
31-10-2009, 03:58 PM
Mind you this one looks a bit dodgy lol
http://www.geeky-gadgets.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/vhs-usb-drive.jpg
mr. Strawberry
31-10-2009, 04:00 PM
lol i wonder how much gihs that is
aaron333
31-10-2009, 04:02 PM
See this all the time on ebay. Stick to places you know well like Novatech and you can't go wrong!:)
mr. Strawberry
31-10-2009, 04:04 PM
lol on ebay there is an overclocked i5 sytsem for £10,000. its clock speed is 10.4GHz
aaron333
31-10-2009, 04:05 PM
lol on ebay there is an overclocked i5 sytsem for £10,000. its clock speed is 10.4GHz
No, it's the shops on there making their systems sound amazing, thinking people wont realise. i5 is a quad core, they've multiplied the clock speed by 4.
mr. Strawberry
31-10-2009, 04:07 PM
i know i sent that person a message saying that and he said i forgot to change it before relisting
aaron333
31-10-2009, 04:07 PM
i know i sent that person a message saying that and he said i forgot to change it before relisting
They wont change it, they assume all customers have no idea. It's a marketing strategy to get customers.
mr. Strawberry
31-10-2009, 04:12 PM
sorry got it wrong it was 9.2GHz here is the measage and the reply and know it is lowered to £620 and a core 2 quad
rampageturke
31-10-2009, 11:19 PM
ultimate scam: DVD rewinder
mr. Strawberry
31-10-2009, 11:33 PM
lol i will love to see that on ebay
PeterStoba
31-10-2009, 11:40 PM
sorry got it wrong it was 9.2GHz here is the measage and the reply and know it is lowered to £620 and a core 2 quad
The world record for a CPU is 8.182Ghz on Liquid nitrogen. Watercooling would not get you anywhere near 7Ghz.
Still he's wrong by saying it should be 2.3Ghz x 4, it's 2.3Ghz end of.
mr. Strawberry
31-10-2009, 11:41 PM
well it is 2.66Ghz to be even more picky
stawte
01-11-2009, 11:06 AM
I think they are hundreds or thousands of adverts like that on ebay. Luckly people don`t really buy ansembled systems off ebay.
mr. Strawberry
01-11-2009, 11:07 AM
no i think some people do but then it is there own fault really
rampageturke
01-11-2009, 09:18 PM
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DVD-REWINDER_W0QQitemZ110451546625QQcmdZViewItemQQptZU S_DVD_HD_DVD_Blu_ray?hash=item19b76cda01
dvd rewinder
pilgrim72
02-11-2009, 02:31 PM
only buy from Novatech or a trusted source. :)
Are you trying to say that Novatech isnt a trusted source? As in, either or...?
:tongue:
lebelbelshaw
02-11-2009, 02:37 PM
lol ..........
Mr. Lime
02-11-2009, 02:40 PM
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DVD-REWINDER_W0QQitemZ110451546625QQcmdZViewItemQQptZU S_DVD_HD_DVD_Blu_ray?hash=item19b76cda01
dvd rewinder
Hahahahahahaha if anyone buys that i will laugh lol
rampageturke
02-11-2009, 03:15 PM
Hahahahahahaha if anyone buys that i will laugh lol
i might buy one for the lulz
mr. Strawberry
02-11-2009, 06:01 PM
lol you should just to see what u get
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.