Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Uh Oh! CoA Code Rubbed Off

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth In The Not So United Kindom
    Posts
    2,045
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    RedFace Uh Oh! CoA Code Rubbed Off

    i recently upgraded my laptop from Vista 32-Bit to Windows 7 64-Bit.

    now, just thinking about it, i've looked at the back of the laptop, and due to wear and tear, the Vista CoA (License Code) has rubbed off the back of the laptop... Not Good, along with some factory installed software that cost me an extra £100 :S.

    would there be anyway of recovering the Code when i have to go back to Vista?

    and if not, how much would it cost for a new License? or i may just have to wait and go Win 7

    thanks in advanced...

  2. #2
    Member TankJon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Littlehampton UK
    Posts
    487
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    If you formatted your Vista installlation to install W7 then your out of luck. Youll need to get a new license or get W7 when its released.
    If however, you Vista installation is on another drive or partition then you can try this http://michaelstevenstech.com/ViewKeyXP.htm its for Xp but may work with Vista. Youll probably need to download the updated KeyFinder version 2.01 which is a bit further down the page.
    Last edited by TankJon; 03-07-2009 at 07:25 AM.
    Macbook 2009 - 2.13ghz / 2Gb / 160Gb / 9400M / OSX 10.6 + Win7 Ultimate (Bootcamp)

  3. #3
    Dedicated Follower koolpc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Under The Desk
    Posts
    981
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    label rubbed off! Usually they are quite robust. Hope you get it sorted!

  4. #4
    Member TankJon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Littlehampton UK
    Posts
    487
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Yeah, Ive seen them ripped but not rubbed off
    Macbook 2009 - 2.13ghz / 2Gb / 160Gb / 9400M / OSX 10.6 + Win7 Ultimate (Bootcamp)

  5. #5
    Dedicated Follower
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    528
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    You Could use Recovery Disk or Partition, What Make and Model ?. Did you remove all partitions beforer installing ?
    Nothing to see here

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Portsmouth In The Not So United Kindom
    Posts
    2,045
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TankJon View Post
    Yeah, Ive seen them ripped but not rubbed off
    dont know how i managed it... but luckely i do have it on a different HDD. Im Just Running on and old 80Gb from my older laptop ATM, but if it ever goes wrong i wont have the code :S

    Quote Originally Posted by TankJon
    you Vista installation is on another drive or partition then you can try this http://michaelstevenstech.com/ViewKeyXP.htm its for Xp but may work with Vista.
    i guess this is the best option for me then thanks Jon

  7. #7
    Novatech Staff Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    383
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Magic Jelly Bean, FTW!
    Matt Kirkpatrick
    Senior Engineer
    R&D Dept.
    Novatech LTD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •