Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Which one is better for FPS?

  1. #1
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Which one is better for FPS?

    1. GTX 590 3072MB GDDR5

    2. GTX 680 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express

  2. #2
    Member Djinni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    413
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

    Default

    I suspect this might be useful:
    http://www.digitalversus.com/graphic...sus-table.html

    If I remember right the 590 is clocked slower in an effort to reduce temperatures... also has 2 GPU's.

    Personally I prefer to go for the 680 because many people have reported issues with the 590 similar to those you might experience with SLI.
    Last edited by Djinni; 27-04-2012 at 09:14 PM.

  3. #3
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Ahh thanks for that mate, so could you just buy two GTX 680s 2048MB (SLI) and how much better performance would you get out of them than just one on its own?

  4. #4
    Member Djinni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    413
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

    Default

    Are you running 3+ screens and planning to use NVIDIA Surround or something? There is no real need for multiple GPU's if your just running one or two screens.

    Yeah I'd put a pretty good bet that you'll get better performance out of 2 680's than 1 590.

    From what I hear most people get about a 70% performance increase in SLI.
    Important points to note about SLI: Memory is duplicated on both cards not shared, so if you buy 2 cards with 2GB VRAM each they will still only have 2GB VRAM between them.
    There are also a number of games which currently don't support SLI and actually require you to disable it in-order to get them to work properly, one of the reasons I tend to go with single card set-ups.
    Current Project :::: Virtual Private Server hosting and Modded Minecraft admin :::: https://www.refreshprojects.com/
    AntecDarkfleet DF-30 || Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8GHz || Thermaltake Frio Pull/Push || 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X || ASUS P8Z68 V-PRO || MSI GTX 560Ti Twin Frozr II/OC || VTX AMD Radeon HD7870 || Samsung 2233RZ || LG IPS236V-PN

  5. #5
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I play Flight Simulator X a lot, so 3+ screens would be a big advantage to be honest. I don't understand what you mean buy 2GB VRAM between them, surely two cards would mean using both at the same time, you'd get 4GB or what would be the point in paying a huge price for the same graphics card?

  6. #6
    Member Djinni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    413
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

    Default

    No, memory is duplicated so the same information is available to each card so you still only have effectively 2GB of VRAM.
    The reason I bring this up is it's worth checking into as to how much VRAM you would actually need for it to run smoothly.

    (Disclaimer... I don't pretend to know everything about multi-gpu setups. I've never used one myself. The one time I tried to use it it failed abysmally on the plus side I sold the 2 cards at a 60%markup to another uni student.)

    Useful resource here: http://sli.nvidia.com/page/slizone_faq.html#c26
    Current Project :::: Virtual Private Server hosting and Modded Minecraft admin :::: https://www.refreshprojects.com/
    AntecDarkfleet DF-30 || Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8GHz || Thermaltake Frio Pull/Push || 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X || ASUS P8Z68 V-PRO || MSI GTX 560Ti Twin Frozr II/OC || VTX AMD Radeon HD7870 || Samsung 2233RZ || LG IPS236V-PN

  7. #7
    Newcomer
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    So, if using more than 2 monitors, you would recommend 2 cards and if not, then just the one?

  8. #8
    Member Djinni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    413
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

    Default

    Last I checked NVIDIA cards only supported up to 2 individual enabled displays each. So if you want to use 3 screens you either need to plug the 3rd screen into your motherboard and not use the NVIDIA Surround or SLI a second card so you can use NVIDIA Surround. (span the 3 displays)
    Current Project :::: Virtual Private Server hosting and Modded Minecraft admin :::: https://www.refreshprojects.com/
    AntecDarkfleet DF-30 || Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8GHz || Thermaltake Frio Pull/Push || 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X || ASUS P8Z68 V-PRO || MSI GTX 560Ti Twin Frozr II/OC || VTX AMD Radeon HD7870 || Samsung 2233RZ || LG IPS236V-PN

  9. #9
    Addict Asce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    1,893
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 32 Times in 32 Posts

    Default

    GTX680 will support Surround off the single card. Currently the only single GPU Nvidia card to do this

    i7 950 4Ghz, Asus Sabertooth, Patriot Sector 7 6GB, Inno3D GTX580, Nova Powerstation 1000w, Yellow/black Silverstone TJ07, XSPC Rasa, EK GTX580 block, Black Ice GTS 360, Liang D5

  10. #10
    Member Djinni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    413
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

    Default

    You sure thats not the 590? Granted I haven't looked at the 680 specs but i'm sure if any would support multiple screens it'd be the one with multi GPUs on a single card.

    EDIT: yeah you can do surround on a single 680: http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/art...e-gtx-680-gpu/

    NVIDIA's Surround/3D vision requirements page: http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/3d-vi...ements-uk.html

    So that would be both the 590 and the 680 that support (3D)Surround on a single card setup.
    Last edited by Djinni; 27-04-2012 at 10:50 PM.
    Current Project :::: Virtual Private Server hosting and Modded Minecraft admin :::: https://www.refreshprojects.com/
    AntecDarkfleet DF-30 || Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8GHz || Thermaltake Frio Pull/Push || 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X || ASUS P8Z68 V-PRO || MSI GTX 560Ti Twin Frozr II/OC || VTX AMD Radeon HD7870 || Samsung 2233RZ || LG IPS236V-PN

  11. #11
    Devotee wuyanxu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,340
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 43 Times in 40 Posts

    Default

    590 isn't worth a penny, it's hot, loud and under performing with a chance of burning itself.

    get a 680 or two, you won't be disappointed.

    alternatively get a 690 due for release in a weeks time. it's like 590, but two 680 on one card.
    i7 2700k \ 16GB \ gtx580 \ D2x \ z68x-UD5 \ m4 128GB +2TB \ Ax850 \ FT02-RW \ G15+G5+G51 \ U2711
    X100 \ 5D mkII \ 70-200 L \ 24-105 L \ 17-40 L \ 85/1.8 \ 270ExII \ 430ExII \ X1.1a \ Hadley Pro -- Photostreamr

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •