Wanting to upgrade either processor or GPU, need help

RIGHT

I have had my PC for literally 2 months, very happy with it. a bit.
Heres my current spec

ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming Intel Z170 (Socket 1151) Motherboard
MSI GeForce GTX 960 GAMING TWIN FROZR V OC 4GB GDDR5
I5 6600K 3.5ghz (not OC and probably wont)
600w psu non modular

So heres my dilemma, It works great and I get very good performance, but on high demanding games like Arma 3 im just not happy with 50 frames in intense situations, it bugs me so I want to upgrade.

Heres my two options im open to at the moment, im open to more suggestions but this is what ive though of so far.

I am (at the moment) going to buy my GPU again, the 960 GTFV OC, and run the two in a sli config, and hopefully see a big difference in performance, but this is my first build and im not 100% if this will work as well as it will in my head.

So my second option in my eyes, is to out the i5 6600k processor, and buy a high end/top i7.

What would I see more of a difference in performance with?

Thank you for any answers in advanced, sorry for typos etc, typing quick and only a quick skim because im at work haha. thanks.

Warren

Definitely dont go 960 sli very poor performance gains for your money IMO! Arma3 is notoriously hard on hardware 50 fps is pretty decent if I’m honest, but if you have to upgrade a rough idea of budget would be great. You would see very little increase in swapping out the CPU as the 6600k is a very decent CPU, a little overclock wouldnt go a miss though :wink:

budget is anything, to an extent, about 400 pound max at the moment but if you recommend a 700 pound part (unlikely I know) I can make it happen.

Really poor gain? ■■■■ my main idea out the window. so confused.

Where would I start with overclocking safely? This is my first build and very nooby.

Thanks Jonny.